General Policy
General Policy

The Government has permitted the importation of foreign domestic helpers (FDHs) since the 1970's for meeting the shortage of local full-time live-in domestic helpers. The arrangement is in line with the fundamental principle of the Government's labour policy that local workers should enjoy priority in employment. Employers can only import workers if they have difficulty in recruiting suitable local workers in Hong Kong.

The Government has prescribed the Standard Employment Contract (SEC) (form ID 407) to protect the interests of FDHs and their employers. The SEC for application of visa for FDHs is available for collection in the Information and Liaison Section of the Immigration Department on 2nd Floor, Immigration Tower, 7 Gloucester Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong.

To provide a quick reference on the rights and obligations of employers and FDHs, the Labour Department has issued the "Practical Guide for Employment of Foreign Domestic Helpers - What foreign domestic helpers and their employers should know", covering answers to some of the common questions raised by the FDHs and their employers. You may also visit the “Publicity Materials and related Publications” section for more materials relating to rights and obligations of FDHs and employers under the labour laws and SEC.

General Policy picture

In addition to protection offered by labour legislations, FDHs enjoy additional protection, such as free accommodation, free food and free medical care by employers, as set out in the SEC. FDHs and their employers also have access to the free consultation and conciliation service provided by the Labour Department (click here for the addresses and contact details of offices of the Labour Relations Division of the Labour Department) in case of disputes. If no settlement could be reached by conciliation, the cases would be referred to the Labour Tribunal or the Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board for adjudication.

To protect employers as well as the job opportunities of local workers, FDHs are not allowed to take up any other employment including part-time work, or to work at any places other than their employers’ addresses as specified in the singed contracts.

For FAQs on contractual and statutory entitlements of FDHs, please click here.

Related link: Hiring Foreign Domestic Helpers


Minimum Allowable Wage (MAW)

The MAW is the wage protection offered to FDHs. Employers must pay FDHs a salary that is not less than the prevailing MAW at the time of signing the contract. This safeguards FDHs against exploitation on the one hand, and protects local workers from competition with cheap foreign labour. The MAW will be reviewed regularly by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government, having regard to the general economic and employment situation in Hong Kong.

The prevailing MAW for FDHs is $4,520 per month, which is applicable to employment contracts signed on or after 29 September 2018. The previous MAW was $4,410, applicable to contracts signed between 30 September 2017 to 28 September 2018.

基本政策
基本政策

政府自七十年代起准许输入外籍家庭佣工(外佣)来港工作,以解决本地全职留宿家庭佣工供应不足的问题。有关安排符合政府劳工政策的基本原则,即本地工人享有优先就业的机会。雇主在港聘请合适的本地工人遇到困难时,方可输入外地劳工。

政府订定了标准雇佣合约(表格ID 407)保障雇佣双方的权益。有关外佣的工作签证申请,标准雇佣合约可于入境事务处查询及联络科(香港湾仔告士打道7号入境事务大楼2楼)索取。

劳工处出版的《雇用外籍家庭佣工实用指南—外籍家庭佣工及其雇主须知》,提供外佣及其雇主的权利及义务的简便资料,并解答一些外佣及其雇主经常提出的问题,以供参阅。你亦可浏览「宣传品及相关刊物」一栏,获取外佣和外佣雇主在劳工法例和标准雇佣合约下可享的权益和义务的相关信息。

基本政策

外佣除享有劳工法例所提供的保障外,更享有标准雇佣合约内订明的额外保障,例如由雇主提供免费住宿、免费膳食和免费医疗。外佣与雇主之间如出现纠纷,亦可使用由劳工处提供的免费咨询及调停服务(有关劳工处劳资关系科办事处的地址和联络详情,请按此)。如个案未能透过调停得到解决,会转介至劳资审裁处或小额薪酬索偿仲裁处进行仲裁。

为了保障雇主和本地工人的就业机会,外佣不可从事其他工作,包括兼职工作,或在标准雇佣合约订明的雇主地址以外的地方工作。

有关外佣的合约及法定权益的常见问题,请按此

相关连接:聘用外籍家庭佣工


规定最低工资

规定最低工资为外佣提供工资保障,雇主须向外佣支付不低于签订合约时规定最低工资的薪金。这项规定一方面可保障外佣免受剥削,另一方面也可保障本地工人免与低薪外地工人竞争。香港特别行政区政府会在考虑香港的整体经济和就业情况后,定期检讨规定最低工资的水平。

现时,外佣的规定最低工资为每月4,520元,适用于所有在2018年9月29日或以后签署的合约。而之前的规定最低工资为每月4,410元,适用于所有在2017年9月30日至2018年9月28日之间签署的合约。